Robbinsdale Debate at the 2020 State Tournament

Robbinsdale Debate shined bright at the 2020 State Tournament
Posted on 01/26/2020

In Lincoln-Douglas, Robbinsdale Armstrong Senior Luis Hammer finished two days of debate finishing as a State Semi-Finalist (Top 4).  This was Luis’ first visit to the state tournament and marks the third year in a row that Robbinsdale Armstrong has had a student finish in the top 4 of the MSHSL State Debate tournament in Lincoln-Douglas debate.


In Congressional Debate, Robbinsdale Cooper Senior Bethany Brynteson finished two days of debate in 5th place.  This is the second year in a row Bethany has qualified to the state debate tournament and the highest finish ever for Robbinsdale in this event.  Robbinsdale Armstrong Sophomore Audrey Pearson qualified to the final round of debate and finished in 11th place.


The Minnesota Debate Teacher Association (MDTA) and MSHSL announced their annual All-State Debate Awards for 2020.  These awards are given to the top 8 students in the state each year in their category of debate.  Luis Hammer was named All-State Debate in Lincoln-Douglas.  This is the second year in a row that Luis has received this honor.  In Congressional Debate, Bethany Brynteson, Shane Hockett (Junior – Armstrong) and Connor Brynteson (Freshman – Cooper) were named All-State Debate in Congressional Debate.  This is the first year each of these students were awarded this honor.  Connor becomes the first freshman in state history to ever receive this award.


In addition, the MDTA awards the MDTA Cup to the top debate school in the state each year in each debate format.  Robbinsdale Cooper was awarded as the top Congressional Debate school in the state.  This is the first time Robbinsdale has been recognized in Congressional Debate for the top school award.


"It is so exciting to work with an amazing set of kids.  We are blessed to have some many dedicated students who put in hard work needed to accomplish so much.  With only two seniors on the team and so much accomplished this year, the next few years are going to be special," said DJ Brynteson Head Coach.


The state tournament was held on the campus of the University of Minnesota on January 17th and 18th.  The MSHSL State Debate Tournament is the oldest state tournament in Minnesota, first held in 1902.  The Robbinsdale Debate team is coached by DJ Brynteson, Celisia Stanton, Andrew Urevig, Nautica Flowers and Grant Davis.


For more information about the State Debate Tournament or Robbinsdale Debate please contact Head Debate Coach DJ Brynteson, 763-458-4702

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.