Minnesota State Debate Tournament

Robbinsdale Debate shined bright at the 2018 Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) State Tournament.


Robbinsdale Armstrong Junior Maggie Wuollet finished two days of debate and was crowned the Lincoln-Douglas State Runner-Up (2nd Place).  This was Maggie's second visit to the state tournament and her best finish.  Robbinsdale Armstrong last won the MSHSL State Tournament in 2014.  She was joined by fellow teammates and Seniors Helen Radovic and Hailey Imbach who finished in 9th Place in Public-Forum Debate.


Senior David Necas qualified to elimination rounds and finished as a Quarter-Finalist (Top 8).  This is the second year in the row David finished as a Quarter-Finalist and was David's fourth year qualifying to the State Debate tournament.  He is one of only second student from Robbinsdale to ever qualify to the state tournament four consecutive years.


The Minnesota Debate Teacher Association (MDTA) and MSHSL announced their annual All-State Debate Awards for 2018.  These awards are given to the top 8 students in the state each year.  Junior Maggie Wuollet and Nadrat Amos from Robbinsdale Armstrong were awarded All-State honors for their first time ever.  David Necas from Robbinsdale Cooper was awarded All-State Honors as well.  This is the third year in a row David earned All-State Debate honors and becomes the first student in MN history to earn All-State Debate recognition three times.


In addition, the MDTA awards the MDTA Cup to the top school in the state each year.  This award is a season long award presented to the top debate school in Minnesota.  Robbinsdale Armstrong was awarded as the top Lincoln-Douglas school in the state.  This is the second time the Robbinsdale District has been recognized for this accomplishment.  Robbinsdale Cooper was awarded the same honor in 2017.


"It is so exciting to work with an amazing set of kids.  Everyone works so hard and it great to see that work pay out.  We are lucky to have an amazing groups of students at Robbinsdale and the best assistant coaches in the state," said DJ Brynteson Head Coach.


The state tournament was held on the campus of the University of Minnesota on January 12th and 13th.  The MSHSL State Debate Tournament is the oldest state tournament in Minnesota, first held in 1902.  The Robbinsdale Debate team is coached by DJ Brynteson, Chyenne Thibodo, Rob Cegla, Celisia Stanton and Andrew Urevig.


For more information about the State Debate Tournament or Robbinsdale Debate please contact Head Debate Coach DJ Brynteson, 763-458-4702.

State Tourney 2018 1
State Tourney 2018 2
State Tourney 2018 3

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.